PDA

View Full Version : Breast lump , still so scared

pb
29-03-09, 13:37
Found breast lump - gp thinks its a cyst, but now so worried because have got aptment within 2 weeks and think they must be concerned.
Also worried that gp is not telling me the truth because she knows i panic - she said she was not concerned , so why have i got such a quick aptment.
Sorry to go on....

finny12000
29-03-09, 13:59
im no expert in this matter pb but i would imagine when its anything like
a breast they fast track you so look on it as getting dealt with quickly and cysts are very common there i believe.
trust gp and try not to worry to muchx

faith
29-03-09, 14:08
this is standard procedure, your GP would not know at this point if it is cancer. The Doctors can only be sure of this with a biopsy, well, that is what happened to me and I di have cancer but that was six years ago and I am fine please try not to worry there are many benign lumps also. Take it one step at a time you do not have bad news at the moment, I did it this way I hope I have helped a little

MoodyBlue
29-03-09, 17:12
In my experience, friends with cysts in all sorts of places have been seen to very quickly, it does not mean that it is something serious, it usually means it's quite a simple procedure that can be seen to as an outpatient, hence the relatively quick turnaround.

Further more, doctors will not tell you it is something less serious just because you are an anxious person, they are there to be honest with you, that's their job! I believe that cysts do feel different to other lumps, something to do with movement etc, and that's why she probably thinks it's a cyst, but try to find encouragement in that it will be sorted in a relatively short period of time (although I know 2 weeks can be a long time when you're feeling anxious about a situation).