PDA

View Full Version : Citalopram Virgin!

Parkee
05-04-09, 22:51
Hi,
This is my first time on here, but I've been reading the posts about citalopram. I've suffered with health anxiety/panic attacks for the best part of 6 years. I've managed to sort it out before without medication but I'm finding it a struggle! I'm seeing a counsellor, but my Dr also prescribed me Citalopram. It's been sitting in my kitchen for a month because I can't decide whether to take it or not. I know it's ultimately my decision, but can anyone give me some advice please?:wacko:

nomorepanic
05-04-09, 22:54
Well my advice would be not to take it and get some form of CBT or counselling to be honest.

It will not cure the problems just mask them

:welcome: aboard by the way

eurotrashcub
05-04-09, 22:58
I never wanted to take meds until I eventually did and it changed my life for the better. I was worse for about 4 weeks and then all of a sudden it felt like if i was back to normal (before i got anxiety)

WE all have different opinions but if your doctor has prescribed it for you, you should give it a go. THe worse that can happen is that it doesn't work. SO you have nothing to lose.

I disagree with the administrator (i hope I am allowed)

I wopuld never discourage anybody from taking a prescribed medicine. On tyop of that, do some CBT though. A combination of the two is your best chance at getting better.

Danny_dingle
05-04-09, 23:01
Hey Parkee,