PDA

View Full Version : nausea and nightmares

LittleWing
06-04-09, 08:10
I'm under a lot of stress at the moment with university studies and I feel like I can't cope.

Last year it was even worse - now I'm in my final year, I only have 2 months left and I just want to get through it sane. I don't care about my results, I just need to complete things on time, and get through it without going crazy like I did last year.

Talking about it makes me feel better.

Last year I thought I may not come out of the whole thing alive, I felt so alone. This year I have an amazing boyfriend - he's my best friend and the most supportive person, but he can never really know what it's like, and I don't want to rely on him too much otherwise I'll feel incapable of doing it myself.

I often get very nauseous, I have bad dreams and they follow me through the day - everything looks so ugly, everything seems like a nightmare, even simple, happy things like sitcoms... I don't know if this sounds strange. It's like everything is tainted, or covered over with a grey cloud - I'm always left with the feeling that something terrible is about to happen. I'm *so* scared when this happens - I'm worried I'll lose myself, I'll lose control, and I start shutting people out - I feel like no one can understand me and I don't want to bring anyone down.

I take rescue remedy throughout the day, so far it's helped to a certain extent. I found some that works in the night-time, and many times it's helped me with my nightmares.

I just need to get through this until the 21st May - that's my last exam. I know I can do it, I guess - if anyone has any tips or similar experiences I'd really appreciate knowing what you did to get yourself through it. How do you cope when you know you have to switch off your feelings - to a certain extent - in order to get tasks done?