PDA

View Full Version : Fear of the dentist

Madwoman
11-08-05, 09:08
Hi everyone,

Madwoman is back, I need your help guys,

I went on holiday last week and had a terrible time anxiious all the time and to top it all I broke my tooth.

I am in loads of pain and desperately need to see the dentist, I have an appointment tomorrow but I am so nervous/anxious and I am working myself into such a state I dont know what to do.

Ive got my rescue remedy on stand by and my lavender joss sticks but all ive done is shake this morning I feel physically sick and I cant keep off the loo.

HELP friends xx

vernon
11-08-05, 11:00
Hi Tracie, I fully understand I have had a horrible life long fear or dentists and only been a few times in my whole life (I am 56 now). I had been suffering toothache most days for about 2 years this time and to scared to even phone a dentist really Ill just thinking of it. I was also supposed to have eye surgery that I have been cancelling for over 3 years and even though I was registered blind and the surgery would have gave me some sight back I just could go. Anyway 5 weeks ago I finally went for the eye surgery it was much less than I expected as I was sure before going I would die. Anyway Ii got the eye surgery done and my site was Instantly much better, then the old toothache was still there, still so scared of phoning and in pain every morning on waking. And every time I ate, so, I looked up some Dentists on the net and in Yellow pages but this time phoned told them I suffered anxiety and was real scared of dentists, I also asked if the dentist would use the gel that freezes the gums before injecting. I found a dentist I thought would be caring and booked. I went god knows how but I did, I was shaking and shaking even more once in the chair but wanted it out of the way. I remembered my wife being phobic about needles and a nice nurse told her to twiddle her toes like mad and only think about how hard she could just concentrate on twiddling her to