PDA

View Full Version : Does your job contribute to your anxiety and depression?

PoppyC
08-04-09, 14:31
Hi all ! :)
I was wondering what jobs we all have or had and whether the job contributed towards our anxiety and depression?
How many of us had to give up our jobs due to anxiety and depression?
I am not being nosey - just curious, as I have been reading how a lot of anxiety problems are related these days to the stress of our jobs more than anything else.

jacks 6
08-04-09, 15:34
Hi poppy
im a nurse in a critical care unit and find my job does contribute to my anxiety, but have to get on with it, very hard at times though.
jackie

Allye
08-04-09, 17:24
Hi Poppy

Mine was a combination. My previous job was stressful. We had a team of three, then one left and one went on maternity leave leaving me. The management took 9 months (yes you did read that right) to find replacements, but I was expected to do the job of three people (which meant working 12 hour days, often 6 days a week to very tight deadlines and targets). On top of that I had chronic anaemia (although I did not know this until afterwards).

On day I was sitting in a board meeting at 3 pm and suddenly I had a panic attack out of no where (probably due to the fact I had been in since 7 am, was fuelled up on coffee and had not eaten at all).

It all went downhill from there

vickykelly
08-04-09, 18:11
hi popy i run an account team of 13 people and its really stressful and i panic at work to, so been off for a couple of days its awful....what the hell is going on?

PoppyC
08-04-09, 18:44
Hi everyone!
Thanks for your replies. :)
I read some article about how people are getting 'burnt out' in the workplace due to stress.
You all sound like you have good jobs but I imagine from your posts they must be very stressful.