PDA

View Full Version : scared and new

rhianna
11-04-09, 11:37
Hi I have just joined and don't know if I should have done or not. I have been suffeing from health anxiety for 20 years and it as completely taken over my life. I'm not sure if I think this will really help me or it is a sneaky way of me geting more reassurnce?

For the last 4 weeks I have been having awful headaches. They are in my neck and above my left eye. What is reall y scary though is that they are accompanied by really sharp pains actually in my left eye.It feels like a blunt needle. They are not there all the time but when I look up my eye feels like he uscles are on elastic bands.

I have seen an optician who says my eyes are in perfect shape. My GP has given me tablets for vasculr migraine type headaches but they have not worked and everything I have read about cluster headaches suggests they are unbearable. These are not unbearable all the time.they are just painful and wearing.

I think I have a brain tumour. Please help. Has anyone else ever experienced this. I feel like I'm going mad

nikita
11-04-09, 11:52
if the optician says your eyes are fine, then they are. also believe it or not they can also see tumours etc in your eye test so you dont have that either. You do have anxiety though and that can give you most terrible symptoms. Believe me, ive had everything going in the last 20yrs but like you, im still here !!

Trixie
11-04-09, 13:06
My friend has horrendous headaches for years now (migraines) and she doesn't have a brain tumour. I have a brain tumour and as yet not had any headache.

Please don't worry.

amu
11-04-09, 14:38
I had the same type of headache+brain tumour fear before - exactly as you describe, sharp annoying pain above my left eye. I had it for about 6 months and it went as after two visits at a neurologist's managed to convince me that I didn't have a brain tumour.
Pleas don't worry and then it will go :hugs:

rhianna
11-04-09, 15:08