PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm new around here

phoenix912
13-08-05, 19:07
Hi I'm just amazed to have found this site - was not aware that so many people felt the same as me. With me its motorway driving - I have taken panic about it to an art form - so much so taht I must have driven thousands of miles out of my way over the last few years. I did not used to have this fear - used to drive all over the country. This came out of the blue - reading nicolas story about the time she was on the motorway was like reading about my own experiences. It is really hampering my career as I have to drive a lot and my colleagues think it is really amusing - I have got to the stage were I just laugh along with them because I have got tired of trying to make them see just how horrible a full blown panic attack can be. Beleive it or not I am a health care professional but cant get a handle of this. Was thinking of hypnotherapy - has anyone else tried this??

Caramel
13-08-05, 19:11
Hi Phoenix & a very warm welcome. I only joined a few weeks ago, and this place is fantastic for people like us - you're definitely in the right place! I wanted to try hypnotherapy as well, so let me know if you manage to find out anything.

Take care

Emxx

phoenix912
13-08-05, 19:18
Thanks Em I will let you know. Am researching someone to go to at present. xx

nomorepanic
13-08-05, 19:26
Hi Phoenix

Welcome aboard.

Well that is my story that you read and I still have issues with driving. Mine are now when I am on roads without a hard-shoulder and roadworks and contra-flows are major problems for me.

I used to be like you and hate motorways but now I find them a bit easier cos at least I can pull off and they have a hard shoulder.

When I lived in Sheffield and had to drive to my mum's in Surrey I had to drive down the M1.