PDA

View Full Version : Stool question..please help..

Alexy
13-04-09, 22:49
What should they actually be like? Im a little worried that mine are loose..but im not sure if its just normal? Like the doc says they should be "soft"..by loose, does this mean like diarrea?so like..3 or more times a day, and like water?

viremarthius
14-04-09, 04:35
hey!! mine are like that too. I have been worried about it for a little while, but I'm assuming it's nothing.

theforester
14-04-09, 06:48
Hey Alexy, I'm no doctor, but I'm 95% sure I know what your doc means by "soft". I believe that this means that the stool is formed and has shape but is not at all difficult to pass. Diarrhea would be a bit too loose and hard ones that take some strain to pass would be too...well hard. The ideal stool is formed and easy to pass. Keep in mind though that there are many things that can effect your stool, not the least of which is your diet. I hope that this helps a bit!

Anyone who knows more about this, feel free to chime in :)

Jjeni
14-04-09, 08:39
ha ha ok well this is an area i feel experienced enough to reply in ....

I have suffered with irritable bowel for 7 years and i have been throgh numbers of tests and investigations and i have also done a diploma in diet and nutrition.

So basically a soft stool is fairly normal - hard stool one of which maybe hurts to pass or is caused by constipation , and a lose movement is one of which is slightly looser than normal as in bit softer not so hard to pass maybe comes out a little easier than normal - diareah is classed as watery, urgency to go type stools ( sory for info but u asked lol)

I would say if you have no other symptoms then u are fine - it can be caused by anxiety / stress / slightly dif diet - maybe something u ate didnt agree with u wholely ( but this isnt to say it will disagree with u again) .