PDA

View Full Version : Help please with seroxat

sharona
15-04-09, 20:40
Hello

I have been on seroxat for 5 weeks now for my anxiety. I have felt better the last few days on it but am suffering awful side effects from it which are realy frighening. I am getting electric shocks in my head. I know these are symptoms of anxiety but they still frighten me. I also read some of the nightmare stories on here when people have tried to come off it, that has now scared me into thinking I should come off them and maybe try something else especially a this early stage? My gp did menion citralapram but said seroxat was beter for anxiety. Can someone please give me some advice.
I would love to talk to anyone who knows a little bit more than me as this is my first time on anti depressants, which may I add ar not really making me smile,are they supposed to?

Lookforward to some advice please.

Sharona

SueBee
15-04-09, 21:23
Hi Sharona,

Not really an expert but I have taken seroxat for the last 7 years or so. I started off on 20mg, then up to 30mg when my panic and anxiety returned early last year.

What dose are you on? there could be a possibility that its too high. I've only ever had head shocks if i miss a few doses in a row, not as a side effect when i started. I'd suggest you go back to your doc sooner rather than later because it is a difficult medication to stop or switch.

As for being a happy pill........ definitely not. Dont get me wrong, it does do its job, but it can take quite a few months to see the full effect.

George
15-04-09, 21:39
Hi Sharona,

I know how you feel and its not nice. I have been on Seroxat for just over 18 months and the first few weeks was horrible. I am now on 40 mg and feel this is the correct level for me. I was actually on Citalopram initially and it pushed me over the edge.Like you I have never been on any prescriptions like these before and also heard about the downsides when coming off them.