PDA

View Full Version : Fighting social anxiety

jen
15-08-05, 22:32
Hi there

This is my first time on here,
I have been suffering with anxiety for nearly 6 years now.
I have always been shy and lacked confidence and had a very low self -estem. but was able to do most things up until a few years back when things gradually went down hill!!
I used to be a community carer and i began to get anxious about small things like will i get to the clients house on time or even will i be able to find their house, eventually I was getting to the point of being sick everytime i went out, and used to have to take a carrier bag with me . I then had this fear of being sick everytime I went out. I was always sick from work because of it , and my doctor then signed me off.
Now the fear has got completly out of control , I started to fear everything then , Pubs, trips on buses (any form of transport really) seeing friends etc Up until 3 months ago i could do the shopping , now my husband or mum has to go as the fear of going is so intense.

Basically to cut a long story short im vertually now agraphobic, and have been off work for two years.

clickaway
15-08-05, 22:39
Hi Jen, and welcome to the forum.

Whilst these are not my symptoms, I can tell you there are loads of people here that suffer from agoraphobia, and I can virtually guarantee that you will soon find a posting from someone who has very similar issues to you.

I historically suffer from low self-esteem and this is a very common trait amongst us all.

Do you know why you suffer? I've been on this site for six months and have found that childhood problems and major life changes such as having children can often be the cause, but there are other reasons too.

You'll find loads of support and advice here - I think we're a good bunch.

Cheers,

Ray

Don't wait around for other people to be happy for you. Any happiness you get you've got to make yourself.--Alice Walker

jen
15-08-05, 22:52
Hi Ray

thanks for your reply