PDA

View Full Version : does anyone get anxious about what they are doing with their life?

redballoons
19-04-09, 10:58
hi
I wondered if anyone else gets anxious about what they are doing with their life in general because when i look back at when my anxiety started it was when the plans I had disappeared.

When i was really little i got to love history in all shapes and forms and as I got older i really wanted to be a lecturer in history.
I did it at a level and got onto a history degree course at cardiff university. It was all going well until in my final year I got pregnant, suddenly it didnt seem so important. my daughter was born 2 months after i graduated and by that time i was just doing the bare minimum to get through my dissertation was a joke!.

I DID graduate but only managed a 2:2 which just isnt good enough to go on to do any postgraduate studies. up until the lasy year i was getting first or 2:1s so i know i really let myself down.

since then i have got married and now have three kids (I am still only 25!). and although i love having them and i am happiliy married sometimes i look back and get upset because i know that i will never be able to do what i wanted now, and i get jealous of my husband which is pathetic because even though he ALSO has three kids etc he has the job he always wanted and planned for whereas the only job i have ever been offered is in a shop. I have applied for hundreds and hundreds but because I have no experience i dont get nice jobs and not so good jobs turn me down for being overqualified - i got my shop job by lying and saying i left school after gcses.

I really dont know what to do. I dont want to live the rest of my life doing nothing but at the same time I now I completely screwed up my chances of doing what i wanted.