PDA

View Full Version : new to the forum

thethinman
22-04-09, 09:49
Hello all

I am new to this but looking for a bit of advice. I have been suffering from GAD since last summer (9 months ish). It came on pretty suddenly whilst i had a bad virus of some kind and became very anxious about my health (i have a past history of Chronic Fatigue and my Dad is also very ill with this). Looking back there were other signs - dizziness, a lot of headaches - but it was a stressful period (a baby who didn't sleep, house moving, money worries). I was put on Citalopram which had no discernible effect and have also had CBT which seemed to be working well tho i am now having another bad patch. I am fairly loathe to get more involved with medication but feel i do need something to help get me out of a whole but my GP says citalopram is the best thing and there isn't really anything else. She wil not prescribe Buspar. I have asked to be refferred on which i think means a psychiatrist. I had been optimistic that this would be short term but am now much less hopeful. Any advice or similar experiences appreciated.

Apologies to be so long winded, and also if i am posting in the wrong place.

nanny
22-04-09, 10:38
Hi there
Welcome to NMP

I was given the same tabs as you and took them for 10 years, they helped with my panic attacks but they didn't help with my severe anxiety.

Can't be much help to you really but i'm sure you will get lots of replies should anyone be able to help which they do in lots of cases.
In the meantime as i said above:welcome: :)

thethinman
22-04-09, 10:39
Thanks for the welcome Nanny. Yes. hopefuly people will have some thoughts.

kittykat
22-04-09, 11:04
Hi there and :welcome: to the site, lots of good advice and support here,loads of people will be able to give you help, and the chatroom is very good as well, take care xx

Southern_Belle
22-04-09, 14:38
Hi,