PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, and suffering!

crieddyled
22-04-09, 21:29
Hi everyone, this is my first time here, but I am feeling so bad that I broke my silence!

I have been suffering from anxiety and panic for a few years now - am on ceroxat. Normally, it's under control and I can go about my daily life no problems.

But currently I am in Greece! This would normally seem like a wonderful thing, but in the past few years I seem to have developed a kind of agoraphobia in relation to travel. I have travelled quite a lot as part of my PhD (conferences, etc), and always seem to travel by myself. Instead of making me feel more independent and strong, it's had the opposite effect. I am in Athens at the moment, and a few years ago I was here and I got so bad I had to come home early. I started feeling bad yesterday at the thought of coming back (scene of previous crimes!), plus I am a nervous flyer. I've been away since that time in Athens and been bad for the 1st few days and then got better, but right now I am feeling terrible. I feel jittery, twitchy, 'fizzy', if that makes any sense, my breathing is quite ragged and I am on the verge of tears all the time. To make it worse I have just been into a bar and in Greece they don't have the smoking ban (which I thought they did!). Smoking makes me feel terrible - like having a panic attack. I do not sleep and feel awful the whole next day.

I am so scared I won't feel better the whole time I am here. I am here for a conference until sunday, but after that I said I would visit a friend and I feel bad if I let her down. But now I feel so bad I don't know what else to do!

Sorry to go on for so long with my 1st post! Hope I haven't bored you.

Angelai
22-04-09, 22:22
Hi, and welcome to NMP.

I'm sorry you're feeling so rotten, especially being away from home. I totally understand the 'fizzy' thing (unfortunately!)