PDA

View Full Version : does anyone else do this

paul
02-01-04, 13:11
hello,ive posted a few messages on this forum already but theres something i do and i was wondering if anyone else does it.when i get anxious i tend to hit things,like walls and tables, and myself.i dont do it so too hard so i end up breaking my knuckles ,but enough so it hurts.the other day i kept punching the side of my body and a bruise formed.im not a violent person at all,but its something that ive been doing for a few months.my concern is that ill end up perhaps cutting myself and going down that way.ive thought about it in the past,but never went through with it.can anyone relate to this?all the best,paul

Meg
02-01-04, 13:30
Paul,

It's your form of coping. Anger emerges, perhaps a old unresolved anger is at the root of your anxiety.
Self cutting is mainly when there are severe self esteem and rejection issues and feelings of unworth. It doesn't just happen , you make the choice.

It's totally fine to be angry and show it. It would be more productive and less painful if you got a punch bag or took up a martial art like Karate, or just instant exercise -sprinting- it's a quick burst of energy that needs to be used immediately.

Also recognising what's behind it and dealing with it .

Meg

Watch your thoughts, they become your words...
Watch your words, they become your actions... Watch your actions, they become your habits... Watch your habits, they become your character... Watch your character, it becomes your destiny...

Prettyface110
02-01-04, 14:04
Hi Paul,