PDA

View Full Version : hello everyone :)

Rachel_123
07-05-09, 21:38
Hi guys my name is Rachel, i'm 18 and I have been consciously suffering from panic attacks for about 6 months now.

Just a little bit of backround info:
I have always been a worrier and i get easily stressed and irritated. I've just always been that way. I have come to believe that my childhood has shaped me to be this way. I have two parents who are very loving, my mother is a recovering alcoholic and has always been the type to shield me from the world. I'm quite the over thinker, and i tend to over analyze alot. I love to be in control, and i love routine.

About six months ago, I started to get really stressed. I'm currently in my last year of secondary school, I'm doing my Leaving Cert and I plan to study Nursing next year. My exams are in four weeks. One day i was particularly stressed so i decided to go to the cinema with my boyfriend. Long story short, I got a panic attack in the cinema, and it lasted for about 4 hours. Longest panic attack EVER :O :)

I went to the doctor and was put on Mirtazapine, an anti-depressent. I also went to a 6 week course of relaxation therapy.

The anxiety has got better, to the point where i can go out, and i do function, but its never quite gone from my mind. Theres always something nagging in the back of my head, telling me to be afraid.

One thing's for sure - i'm afraid of the uncertain, and at this point in my life, its a transition and nothing is certain. I feel ive done so well so far, so i hope my recovery can keep being positive, and i can keep stepping forward.

My depression doesn't seem to go away though. maybe its only early days, but i don't feel excited about anything anymore, even when i know and want to .

well thats me i suppose :)

diane07
07-05-09, 21:44
Hi Rachel

A huge warm welcome to nmp

you'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way