PDA

View Full Version : How to say NO!

littlemissshy
09-05-09, 18:14
Hello, Apologies if this has been asked before but i need help.

I work in a job which doesn't involve any contact with the public, i really like my job this way i work with a small group of people which is the way i prefer. I now have been asked if i will take on other work which would involve working in customer service face to face. I really don't want to do this, i worked in customer service before and i hated every minute of it. My anxiety shot through the roof and any customer who was rude or unpleasant would make me really upset for the rest of the day and i ended up leaving. I really like my job the way it is and i don't want to end up hating it.
So i eventually get to my point (sorry!) how can i stick to my guns and say no, without having to give excuses, i seem to be ok in coming out with the word but then there's usually that pause when they wait for a reason and i really don't want to say "i don't want to work with the public" as i've said this before and i was accused of being anti-social which i'm not i just like working in a small group it keeps my anxiety at bay. I feel really pressured into saying yes and my boss has told me she wants to see on Monday and i'm terrified that i'll back down and end up being miserable again.

Sorry for being long-winded, hope you can help

Utility
09-05-09, 18:49
Hi

I hope this may help but I also realise that every work environment is different, but here goes.

Why don't you just tell them the truth about the anxiety feelings that you sometimes experience and make them appreciate that certain situations can make things worse. Please remember that every single employer in the UK has a duty of care towards their employees (even if they don't show it). This is something that they cannot avoid and if a job role is seen as more stressful then they have to do everything possible to reduce this.