PDA

View Full Version : I think I have laringitis (sp)

Lissy43
10-05-09, 18:44
I started with raised glands, lumpy throat feeling, slight ear pain, head pain and congestion on friday night. Yesterday I felt very tired and sickly then today I felt alot better but my voice has really gone, its not sore when I swallow its like further down my windpipe feels abit sore when I try to talk or yawn. Talking is an effort, it really feels tight and horrible. Is this laringitis?

A few of my work colleagues had sore throats and fever last week but none of them lost their voice and some of them even went to work where as I feel so rubbish I have been sent home from work. I work in a hospital so best stay away.

Does anyone know how long this is likely to last? I have 3 kids, its so difficult to try and rest my voice.

lorac
10-05-09, 18:47
Sorry to hear you are feeling poorly, there seems to be alot of this type of illness about, I had one of the family here today and they could hardly talk.

Hope you feel better soon.

Carol

Lissy43
10-05-09, 18:52
Thank you Carol,

It really is horrible. I am a student nurse so exposed to alsorts ;-)

bex1970
10-05-09, 22:19
Could well be laryngitis.... normally you get cold symptoms - i.e. achey and sore throat and head etc. Then your voice goes - it's not normally painful to talk or anything, it just disappears.... I had it last Christmas - very annoying - but it goes after 3/4 days..... it's viral so there's not much you can do unfortunately - the doctor will just say don't talk - which is IMPOSSIBLE with 3 children! Poor you..... try honey and lemon in hot water - that helped for me...

Lissy43
11-05-09, 08:12
thx bex but did u feel weak and generally yuk when u had it? First day i had cold type symptoms, now i dont hurt i just feel tired and weak. My voice is still very hoarse.

belle
11-05-09, 08:35
I've had laryngitis about 10 times.

For me the symptoms are....