PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Breathing?

sMINT
14-05-09, 16:43
For the past 4 days now I have had the same feeling in my lungs and it has been there from when I wake up till when I go to bed at night. No break in between. Just a constant pressure on my chest.

The only way I can describe what the feeling is, is that it feels like a mix between feeling breathless and the feeling of my lungs being already 3/4 full and I can only take in 1/4 of air but I need more.

The only way I can remotely feel normal is when I take a big sigh. But I cant go around sighing every 2 minutes.

Would you say this is anxiety? or something else? I mean i've had it for 4 days continuous. Is there a way I can get rid of it if it is anxiety, Ive tried exercise but that makes me worse.

Thanks

Captain America
14-05-09, 17:35
i do get this, but not for such long periods.

i'm not a doctor let me say first of all, but it sounds like your diaghram is 'locked'. i had a physical therapist use that term on me when he checked me out. he said to practice breathing by putting a hand on my stomach and making sure that my hand is going up and down while i'm breathing, a little slower than normal but not like 'deep' breathing or anything. i do that now when i get that feeling and do find that i'm not using my diaghram. i mean, i am, but not well. it's like when my stomach is full and bloated i can't breathe very well. seems to block things up around that area.

the diaghram is the muscle that pulls the air into the lungs. and since it is a muscle it's susceptible (sp?) to anxiety, etc. it can tighten up like anything else.

if you do some of the diaghramatic breathing (remember it doesn't have to be extremely slow or anything) and it doesn't resolve check with a dr. maybe he has some other things you can do.

sMINT
14-05-09, 18:32
Yeah this is the first time Ive had it for such long periods. Im used to it going after a few hours :(