PDA

View Full Version : I could use some help - I am new to this but not HA

Onward
14-05-09, 18:01
Hello everyone,

I am now in my 22nd year of this much maligned malady and have been in its horrific grips on my own and with my wonderful wife of 16 years. I have written to others that sometimes she is relegated to a health cheerleader, trying to assure me that everything is OK despite my stupid head.

Let me first say I do not want anyone to take this next story to heart (no pun intended). I just was released from the hosptial after a brief 50 hour stay to have an EP test and subsequently an ICD placed inside me. The hospital was premier and everything Thank God went well. But as we all know, herein lies the rub. I went to Dr. Google and looked up something called CLAB infections so of course I am ruminating if I touched the end of the IV at times and this would cause something. I also came home two hours after the last test where they knock you out with sedation. I was still somewhat groggy, extremely emotional (as I always am) and anxious. When I arrived home I took my temperature and it was 99. Of course I got that fear washover me, took it again and it was 98.7, took it again two minutes later and it was 98.4. This morning I did it again and it was 97.4. Like we all know again, most would calm down and say well temperatures can fluctuate given extraneous stimuli, but my comment to my wife was, "it's usually 96 something in the morning." She stated that you just got done with surgery for an ICD less than 24 hours ago, had another test where they again, shock your heart and have all this pent up emotion, chemicals and intravenious antibiotics in you.