PDA

View Full Version : nervous about having to work 2moro

henri
26-08-05, 18:58
hi everyone,
i'm a journalist and started having panic attacks about eight months ago. i quit my job at a newspaper so i could work freelance - basically so i wouldn't have to go into the office.
anyway, i've been asked to go in to do a shift on the newsdesk tomorrow. it's the most stressful day of the working week and i've got to research a story, find people to interview, write the article, all before around 1.30pm.
i know i could have turned it down but i need to take all the work i can and i sort of wanted to prove to myself that i can do it. but now i am totally freaking out about having to go and can already feel my anxiety symptoms creeping in.
just wanted to get that off my chest...any tips or hugs would be appreciated!
henri x

carlin
26-08-05, 19:46
Hi Henri,
I have no sound advice really but i do have a GREAT BIG HUG for you!!Thinking about what we have to do is sometimes worse than actually doing it, i have had quite a turbulent day, had to forget the panic and get on with it...now though i wonder how i did it...the same will happen tommorow for you, we always seem to deal with the anxiety/panic, it is so unpleasant and awful, you will be distracted by all you have to do and will be fine good luck and keep in touch xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

helen__w
26-08-05, 19:59
Hi henri

Just think of the sense of achievement you will feel after you have done it! It might be hard at the time but you can use it as a source of inspiration for the next time knowing that you can get through it!

I will be thinking of you - let us know how it goes

take care

Helen x

curlybird
26-08-05, 20:12
Hi Henri :)

I can totally sympathise with your situation. I had to join a focus group on Monday, which meant a room full of strangers all joining in a big debate, which I had to take part in. At one point I even had to stand in front of them all and use the flip chart - FOR A GOOD 45 MINS!!