PDA

View Full Version : Lexapro?

Phill2
31-08-05, 09:46
Hi Guys
My Dr has suggested Lexapro but when I tried Aropax some years ago I had a major panic attack and now I'm scared of antidepressants.
Has anyone got any success stories or tips I might find useful?
Thanks
Phill

mjh74
31-08-05, 10:54
Hi there Phill,

I've been taking Cipralex which is it's brand name over here, for about 5 months now and it's been a real help. I've had some not so pleasant experiences with some of the other antidepressants too but this one has been very good for me. My GP started me on 5mg to ease me onto it, I took it after eating breakfast and the only side affects I experienced was some fatigue after taking the pill for the first week. I did feel a bit edgy too but as long as I did something it was ok. I was then moved to 10mg the next month, stayed on that for a few months then up to 20mg and I'm now feeling a lot better than I did. It's a real help for the anxiety and my mood is good too!

I hope this help,

Best Wishes,

Mark

Phill2
31-08-05, 10:58
Thanks Mark
Do you know if I can still continue diazepam with it?
Phill

Yesterday's History,Tomorrows A Mystery,Today Is A Gift - Thats Why They Call It The Present

mjh74
31-08-05, 11:13
Yes, I took Diazepam for about 3 months with it, especially in the early stages of taking Lexapro, I don't need it anymore though :)

Mark

Phill2
31-08-05, 11:21
Thats really great! I'm gonna need my crutch to go through with it
Thanks
Phill

Phill2
15-09-05, 11:00
Hi Guys
Thanks for all the help and advice.
I took my 1st 5mg of Lexapro this morning and felt like I was wrapped in cotton wool for a couple of hours but felt good at the same time.
Bit edgy and dizzy this arvo but I put that down to being bored and having nothing else to think about.
Today was my day off so it's back to work tomorrow and a deal to negotiate.
I'll be taking my Lex again so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I'll be OK to do the deal.
Fingers crossed
Phill