PDA

View Full Version : I won't be like this forever will I?

Tori Frances
28-05-09, 20:08
Just need some reassurance. My mother in law just said she thinks I have chronic depression/ anxiety. She used to be a psychiatric nurse. This has really freaked me out as I feel like I will have to live like I am doing now for the rest of my life. I have been seriously ill with this for five months now. previously I had had episodes with years in between of being fine but they never lasted a fraction as long as this one has. I've been having CBT for four months and have been on Citalopram for 9 weeks.
Please tell me I will have years of being better in between episodes like I did before? Or does the length of this episode mean this is my life now?

valleybear
28-05-09, 21:23
I used to be a psychiatric nurse also and anxiety/depression can be treated very successfully.You will not feel like this forever. Hang in there and believe that you will feel strong and well again.Thinking of you and wishing you well.

Daisybun
28-05-09, 21:26
Hi Tori
i don't know if this will reassure you but i have had two bad bouts in the past. I am still on citalopram, just 10mg but I am now the person I feel I should be. I have been on citalopram for three years and I am reducing it very slowly - nothing can beat the feeling of feeling normal and that is how i have felt.

Tori Frances
29-05-09, 09:12
Thanks guys. How long did your 'bouts' last? Why is mine lasting so long do you think, (five months so far), when have been getting treatment almost all of this time?

lifesabeach
29-05-09, 10:42
Its odd but I consider myself quite an optomistic person but when this side of me strikes it really does feel like a mysty haze, a fog of darkness is suffocating even my thought processess. But its amazing when this fog lifts i think to myself' what was that all about' and carry on with life.