PDA

View Full Version : hiya

nicci
05-09-05, 14:41
This is my first time here, been reading some of the post and its me i feel the same way as most of you,palpatations,sweats,rapid breathing but it all happens to me outside around people,supermakets are the main ones i am beginning to avoid them but i just hate the way they make me feel, i know im not in any danger but yet i still have that familier feeling of panic i either fight them which is hard or i leave and that just makes me feel like a faliure

nicola fencioglu

clickaway
05-09-05, 14:55
Welcome to the site Nicola,

Supermarkets seem to be a favourite place for panics and anxiety.

I suppose a supermarket is outside many people's safety zone, outside the house and is full of people. Also you have to queue and many people don't like that either - suddenly our brain is idle and give time for negative thoughts to surface.

As you have already seen, there's loads of support and advice here.

Take Care,

Ray

Don't wait around for other people to be happy for you. Any happiness you get you've got to make yourself.--Alice Walker

trac67
05-09-05, 15:26
Hi Nicci,
I can relate to what you are saying so much, i used to hang on to the trolley for dear life in the supermarket, and ran quite a few times.
I then decided to stick it out and take it a step at a time in there gradually staying in there longer and longer, and now i dont have any problems at all, i even let the kids push the trolley.
You can do it.
Take care
Trac xx

its "just a thought"

Meg
05-09-05, 16:49
Hi Nicci

**i either fight them which is hard or i leave**

Another way is to do it on small stages.

Enter , buy one thing from near the entrance and out .
Then build up very very gently to several items from maybe one isle and then pay and leave fast.

Then tell yourself how well you're doing and build your confidence up with positive experiences

Do not allow youself to get into the habit of avoiding. It brings bew problems

Meg