PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

Copsgrl8
11-09-05, 04:48
Hello Everyone!

I am rather new here and can't believe how much I have in common with you all. For a long time I thought I was alone dealing with these crazy symptoms.

I have been suffering from panic attacks for almost 4 yrs now and it first started after my husband had his first heart attack. I was never so scared in my whole life.
I have brought myself to the ER countless numbers of times thinking *I* was having a heart attack.
I have had EKG's, Ultrasounds of my heart, 24 heart monitor and nothing is pointing to my heart. So that's when my GP told me I was suffering from panic attacks.
What really scared me and is also confusing is I could be just watching TV or playing with my kids and all of a sudden BAM.....I start feeling the tight chest my left arm almost feels numb I think I can't breathe my face gets a numb feeling...OMG I get so scared. Sometimes it will last a few mins other times I could feel "strange" all day.
I have feeling something new and was wondering if anyone else has this ....My left leg feels strange. I can't pinpoint what it feels like just strange....It almost feels tight.

As of right now I am NOT on any meds but after having a terrible week of attacks I have an appointment with my GP with coming week because I know I need something to try and help myself. And if I help myself I am also helping my family because I know it effects them especially my husband.

Thanks for listening to me :)

Terri

SickofIt
11-09-05, 12:33
Hi Terri,
This is a great site and it has been very helpful to me.

I'm so sorry about your husband and his heart attack. I hope he was able to recover.

Are you seeing a therapist or just your regular doctor? I have found counseling to be a very good thing. I also go to a support group twice a month.