PDA

View Full Version : Hi...Newbie here

NYCgirl
05-10-05, 06:22
Hi. Just came across this forum. Looking for other people that are experiencing the same symptoms that I am. Here's my story:

I am a survivor of the World Trade Center attack (lost almost half my coworkers that day). Before then, I never had a panic attack in my life (I was 39 on 9/11.) About 3 months after the tragedy, I was eating lunch in our new office space and I suddenly lost the ability to swallow. Then, my neck started to tighten really badly and I got really upset. This passed and everything seemed ok for two years. Then, early last year, I started to develop flushes - I would turn bright red for no reason and it would pass. But, one day, it did not pass. I was with friends, watching a DVD (the Jack Nicholson/Diane Keaton flic) and suddenly, when Nicholson's character started to have a heart attack in the film, I started to have a panic attack. It was BAD. I was sweating profusely, trembling, choking, no saliva, blood pressure skyrocketing, heart was palpitating profusely - my friends called an ambulance. The paramedics thought it was bad enough to take me to the hospital. In the emergency room, they asked if I had taken drugs - I had not. They concluded that this was a panic attack, shot me with Ativan and I slept in the ER for the night. A horrible experience.

My adrenaline continued to be out of control for several weeks and I was given a prescription for Ativan to calm me down. I only took the pill when I felt the symptoms were rising (I was leary of taking these pills). I had full medical tests and the doctors said that there was nothing physically wrong - this appeared to be all anxiety related.