PDA

View Full Version : My Story so far

Fin
25-08-09, 17:36
Hi there,
I have been using NMP for about 10 months now and have found it a great comfort. Usually in the form of reassurance that the symptoms I were experiencing were not unique and and also more importantly were not down to some physical disease that I for a good while was convinced I had. Almost exactly one year ago my life changed in a way in which I could not have imagined. I started feeling tingling in my arms and on my head and felt very nauseous. I am 37 and although had been told 8 years ago that I probably had IBS (explained loose movements and cramps etc) apart from that I was relatively healthy although I had been feeling very fatigued off and on for the last few years. I was convinced that it must be diabetes or a thyroid problem or something but yet again all the tests came back clear. Meanwhile I was feeling more and more fatigued and as a result getting irritable which wasn't fair on my wife. Anyway it was as if these tinglings and the subsequent muscle twiching that followed signalled the - I suspect long held view by myself - culmination of something very serious which would explain the relentless fatigue. At first I thought that it must be MS or even worse because of the constant twitching which was by now all over my body CJD or something equally doomladen. The worst part now was that I couldn't sleep. I had this constant shaking all over my body but felt it especially in my shoulders which just would not abate and this meant that sleep was an impossibility. Looking back now it seems ludicrous that I couldn't see that this was anxiety but whilst I was there it was very frightening. At this point thankfully I hadn't done any googling but had seen my GP who had said that MS was not likely due to the sudden onset. I was still convinced that something was seriously wrong and therefore after another visit to my GP in which I implored him to get me a referral to the Aberdeen Royal Infirmary