PDA

View Full Version : Relationship Anxiety

hellbelle49
08-09-09, 16:09
Hello everyone,
I am new to nomorepanic and wanted to know if there is anyone out there like me.
I have suffered on and off with panic and anxiety for the past 11 years and they have always been related to relationships as my first panic attack happened in a lift with a guy when i was 16 and after that i was terrified to go out with anyone for years. I slowly did allow myself to go out with guys (although it took 5 years) but any serious relationship i have had has finished due to my anxiety. My boyfriend and i split up on Sunday night as the last four months i have been in extreme panic after we had a small argument. It then triggered for me to think he looked differently and question why i was with him. Soon i was comparing him with different kinds of guys and then every little thing was a trigger for anxiety - he didnt like the same songs as me - panic, he didnt do impressions, he didnt like this or that - every thought was irriational but soon i believed them all to be true. On Sunday we had no choice but to end it as i just didnt feel comfortable anymore as i couldnt work out if it was simply wrong or if my panic and anxiety had told me it was wrong. I am just so upset and disparing thinking i will never be able to have a successful relationship as anxiety always rears it head and convinces me its wrong. Is anyone out there suffering like me? i would really like to hear from you as i feel so alone. I have good friends who listen but no one understands and i dont have the support of my family. thanks heaps. Hellbelle

Maddy
08-09-09, 17:47