PDA

View Full Version : Cervical cancer fear - please read

Ariel333
20-09-09, 20:26
I have just joined No More Panic, and I hope one of you may be able to help. Menopause began about 2003, and over the past year or two, I have experienced vaginal bleeding which has now become a constant occurrence. I visited my doctor's surgery to have a smear test, but as I found it so painful, the practice nurse was unable to continue with the procedure. I therefore requested a hospital referral. I then saw a consultant in gynaecology who gave me an initial manual test (and being a male doctor, I found it very embarrassing). He said he found no lumps etc., but put me forward for a surgical pre-assessment check and scan. The truth is that as I felt so nervous, I have postponed the appointments, and have another scheduled one on the 1st October. In addition to the almost 24/7 bleeding, I also experience a vague pain in the lower part of my abdomen, and the area near my right hip feels rater tender. Obviously, I am fearing that these symptoms could be either cancer of the cervix or ovaries. I have looked at a lot of Internet health sites but did not find them very helpful. (Of course they all mention that post menopausal bleedng is a key symptom of cancer). So please, can any one of you give me your opinion if you have suffered anything like this, or have medical knowledge that might clarify my symtoms. I am feeling very scared.

pollyanna
20-09-09, 22:13
Hi Ariel

Firstly :welcome:

quick question, how old are you? and had you gone through the menopause completely and then started to bleed?

I have recently been diagnosed with dysfunctional uterine bleeding due to irregular ovulation, and am waiting for an appoitment to have the mirena coil fitted ( im 42)

P x

Maj
20-09-09, 22:41
Hi,