PDA

View Full Version : Panic attacks killed my life joy!

Ahmed
08-10-09, 15:23
Hello all, my name is Ahmed, im 24 years old and this is my first time to join NMP which im proud of.
I'm suffering panic attacks since 2 years where my whole life changed. I was a very active person, and used to be a vocalist in a band where i had a dream of reaching far from only a band in local scene. The panic attacked me and destroyed me totally. I kept on facing it for almost a year and a half, but this year was the worse. Since around 6 months i started having issues with my heart which are palpitations. I never knew panic attacks could do this, then i kept every 2 weeks rushing to a different hospital. i couldn't handle it it made me more depressed. Then i decided to go see a docotor. And he wrote down Xanax for emergency cases and seroxat. and im using it since a week now. To be honest still i dont feel good, i feel my chest is tight and my fingers are kind of numb. Please help me mentally and help me get my old life back :weep:

suzy-sue
08-10-09, 15:38
Hi Ahmed and :welcome: to Nmp.Your medication Seroxat will take 2-3 weeks to settle in your system .It will give you side effects ,but everyone suffers differently. There is a sub forum for medications further down the page ,you will get some help from other people who are experiencing the same thing there .Once your dose starts to kick in ,you will feel better in your self and you can learn techniques like relaxation and deep breathing to elp with the panic .There are lots of things you can do to help yourself ..Read as much as you can about Panic and learn to accept it wont hurt you .A good book to read is by Dr ClaireWeekes Self help for your nerves .It can be bought cheaper from the NMP shop .It really is a good book and will help you understand all about it .Take care and all the best with your recovery .You will get a lot of help and support here ,,Luv Sue :hugs:

gypsywomen
08-10-09, 16:21