PDA

View Full Version : Need some serious help!

tamachan
08-10-09, 15:54
Hello everyone!

I really need some help/advice/reassurance from people who maybe have gone though some of the same things I have.

I suffered from anxiety for the first time my senior year of high school. I smoked pot, when into extreme panic, and experienced 6 months of debilitating anxiety/derealization/panic. However, I COMPLETELY recovered and was fine for about 3 years.

Flash forward to about one month ago. I am studying abroad in the Dominican Republic, and didn't really know anyone that well. We went out, I had a few drinks and ended up smoking pot to sort of "fit in." Well I ended up passing out, hitting my head on a tile floor, and sustaining a concussion. I woke up feeling fine, but the next day, the feelings of panic set in. I was able to go home for two weeks, and came back feeling on top of my anxiety. I still had symptoms, but they were ones I could live with, and were getting better by the day. I felt very motivated to overcome my panic, and was doing okay.

Then, I got sick here. I had the swine flu. I was congested, and my ears ended up becoming very clogged. I felt very anxious over this, and obsessing over the fact that my ears still feel weird is causing me extreme anxiety. I am still unable to tell if my ears still continue to feel clogged from the sickness of from the anxiety. If i ignore my ears, they tend to feel better. If I concentrate, I get crackling in my ears and a feeling that they need to pop. Has anyone's ear problems been made worse by anxiety?

Now I feel like I'm in a constant mind battle. I am so afraid all the time. I wake up with my stomach hurting, I feel highly unsettled during the day, I can barely focus on my work (which is awful because this is study abroad and highly intensive). I can't tell if something is wrong with my body or if it is all anxiety and in my mind!