PDA

View Full Version : SO anxious

daisy222
26-10-09, 14:24
Apologies in advance for this long post and thanks for bearing with me! I am 50, happily married with adult children who we are proud of, so I've nothing to be worried about family-wise. I have always been an anxious person - my parents had extremely high expectations of me as a child and although I have been a teacher for 26 years, they felt I let them down. I enjoy teaching most of the time and don't care what my parents think, but they have given me a hard time over the years, which I have come to terms with.
I am frightened of just about everything - horses, dogs, flying, driving long distances, booking hotels, making formal arrangements - and it seems to be getting worse the older I get. What prompted me to get help today was something that happened an hour ago today: I was in a meeting with 6 other people who I know quite well, and when I was asked to speak I couldn't think straight, mumbled something and went completely red in the face with shame. I have had to be really strong with myself and force myself not to go and explain what I meant. I ALWAYS force myself to converse with people and then afterwards go over the whole conversation word for word to check that I didn't say anything stupid.
I was on valium at 16 due to exam stress, and have been on various anti-depressants over the years, but they didn't really help. I have read lots of self-help books and had CBT sessions - again, they havn't helped long term.
On the way to school this morning a little bird flew into the windscreen and gave me a huge fright - that started today's panic/anxiety and I'm sick of myself feeling like this. I don't want to go to the doctor as I know it's anxiety and I don't want to go ADs again.
I'm hoping that someone can suggest a herbal remedy that will work. I take a number of supplements - maybe I'm taking too many?