PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated!

bjs
26-10-09, 18:21
Hello folks

I am a teacher on a medical leave. I am really angry and frustrated with the "system" (doctors, disability,etc.).

I have been on a leave since last April. There is a history of depression and anxiety in my family and I have had my struggles with this over the past ten years.

I have been diagnosed with depression and anxiety. AT my worst, I was thinking very dark thoughts, crying constantly, confused, anxious, etc..
This was from about March until July.

I ran into difficulty in my job. I was supposed to have special ed. students who needed life and work skills. I ended up with many students who were not supposed to be in my class and were not interested in learning or participating. Many had criminal backgrounds and were violent at times. I became very frustrated as not much was getting accomplished and my class was becoming an unsafe place to be. I got no support from the school administration Instead of implementing some basic rules for these high school students...most of which were eighteen years and older...the students were allowed to do as they pleased. My abilities as a teacher were scrutinized. They ended up closing my classroom at a meeting and making some rude comments about my teaching at this meeting. They did not even have the decency to tell me in private first.

I am a dedicated, hard working teacher. Most of my twenty years have been in the area of special education. I know what I am doing and I am good at it. I put that extra effort in for these kids as many do not have caring parents or families. I will go to great lengths to help a kid so when I tell admin. that I have done everything and that the student needs to leave the school system until they are ready to cooperate and participate..............ug............there does need to be soem basic rules in a classroom!