PDA

View Full Version : Newbie my story

bells78
26-10-09, 19:26
Hi this is my first time posting though ive been reading the forum for about a month now and ive found it a great support.

My worries started in June this year when i felt a lump/bulge in my neck, within minutes i was on the internet consulting dr google! Everything that came up seemed to say i had cancer or HIV......

My hand was constantly fixed to my neck prodding and poking, and this lump seemed to take over my life. I was on the internet all the time googling neck lump/swollen glands. I didn't dare go to the doctors and i was convinced it could only be bad news. I finally plucked up the courage to go see my G.P in August who said i had a muscle spasm. For an hour i felt relived then the worry kicked in again. Within a couple of weeks it was that bad i couldnt sleep and found myself in tears on several occassions. My relationship started to suffer as my boyfriend was sick of hearing my moaning about my neck. The swelling in my neck went down but i could definatley feel a small lump towards the back of my neck behind the muscle.

So i decided to go back the the doctors and this time i saw a different G.P he said he could feel alittle gland but it was nothing to worry about. He said sometimes you can feel glands and i will probably still be able to feel it in 10 years. I told him that when i turn my head to the right my neck sicks out slightly. The G.P said it will do because of where it is and if i loose weight chances are it will stick out more.

I have since felt 2 more lumps when prodding my neck, the original lump is also still there, i've now seen 3 different G.P's at my doctors who all confirm the lymph nodes are not swollen and they dont seem worried at all about them.

I just wish i could forget about them, i'm doing better than i was but still can't go a day without worrying or prodding my neck. Sometimes i feel it that much it gets tender and aches.