PDA

View Full Version : New member... completely bewildered!

alicebrum
02-11-09, 03:05
Hello!
It feels a bit weird posting on a forum, I've never done it before but I just really feel like I need to speak to people who understand!

My name's Alice, I'm 18 from Leeds UK but live in Birmingham at university now. I have suffered from anxiety and depression for almost a year after being raped by my then boyfriend. I have plenty of support from my current boyfriend and friends but sometimes people just don't know what to say or how to answer my questions. I read a few other posts on this section of the forum, and it seems like everyone is so understanding and sympathetic! I hope I can meet some great people here who I can share experiences and swap advice with. I really need some kind of release because I am constantly tense and wound up and sometimes stay inside for weeks at a time, which is destroying my relationships, my university course, my self esteem, everything! :\ To be honest it has been a downhill struggle over the past year and I need to know that it can get better?? It's sometimes hard to see light at the end of the tunnel, especially during those horrible sleepless nights!

I really look forward to hearing from people :)
Alice x

diane07
02-11-09, 03:06
Hi alicebrum

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

lynn1960
02-11-09, 03:42
welcome i have severe anxiexty also and cant sleep,thr feelings are horrible are you on meds

alicebrum
02-11-09, 03:58
Yep sleepless nights make you feel awful, everything seems so much worse at this time of night when it's so dark and there's noone awake to talk to!