PDA

View Full Version : A nervous hello!

fashionista
05-11-09, 23:52
Hi everyone,

I am 22, and have been suffering from anxiety for a couple of years. I actually used to use this site when I first started university, and a couple of the usual things going wrong caused me my first real bout of anxiety - I became obsessed with the idea of having cancer, or HIV, or lung cancer.

A couple of years on, the above symptoms have totally gone - I can't imagine having them again - but since I graduated in the summer and moved home, I have started to have these horrible thoughts that I can't control, really freaky and horrible, about people that I love, and that I would never ever harm. It makes me feel sick and guilty, but I can't seem to shift them, at least not for a few hours each time. I have been with my boyfriend for two years, and he is so so understanding - but I worry that I am getting just TOO much!

On Monday we celebrated two years since we had been together, with a lovely meal that he cooked. He went to so much effort, making my perfect meal ever. There were candles, flowers, and even a laminated menu that he made just to make it look like a restaurant!! It was wonderful... until my wierdness kicked in! I had this thought that I was going to rip up his menu, or harm my boyfriend. :weep: I can't believe I am sharing this. I told him straight away, and as usual he was brilliant, he said "well thats not the wierdest thing you've ever told me!" but I felt so MENTAL afterwards. And now.

Its these thoughts that I just can't shift, about fancying members of my family, or scared of harming clients who come into the wonderful place i work in.