PDA

View Full Version : Low Self-Esteem Ruining My Chances

harasgenster
10-11-09, 15:22
Hi.
I'm diagnosed with mood instability (i.e. low on bipolar spectrum) but in my opinion, my depression is almost always caused by anxiety.

I feel like I'm useless at everything. I get praise for the things I do (comedian/scriptwriter) but I always presume that people just don't have the heart to tell me that I have no talent. No proof is enough for me. A couple of years ago I graduated top of my year from uni. It was an half academic, half creative course; and should have been proof that I'm good at those things. But I keep worrying that I'm very average, and that when I have done well it is not because I am good at something but that I tried harder than everyone else.

I get embarassed when I realise I haven't been doing something "right". I read that comedians look down on new acts that don't visit comedy clubs regularly to learn the craft from the pros. I don't do that and I've admitted to it on the circuit and now I think everybody is frowning on me. The reason I don't is because I either have no money to go to the nights or, when they are free-entry, I'm afraid to go alone and my friends don't want to go. I'm just going to start going on my own now though. I want to learn and I want people to see that I am serious. The only problem is what an effect this has had on me! Nobody has told me that they frown upon me but I just expect everybody to!

I should have been able to go for a career after university but since I feel this way I miss out on opportunities and avoid things. I don't have enough confidence in my abilities, most of the time, to give anything a go.