PDA

View Full Version : Fear of Schizophrenia?

Mk09
02-12-09, 23:03
Hi all.

Well, recently I've developed a real fear of getting Schizophrenia. I sometimes think a random, crazy thought to see if I believe it. Which makes me anxious, and then unsure if I actually do believe it. I also constantly, when there is noises going on around me, feel like I hear some kind of out of place noise in the background/or in my head? :S (Like a humming, or something similar to that).

This is very annoying for me since it keeps me feeling quite anxious and usually I end up getting very irritated with people easily, for any reason (Including people just talking to each other sometimes also). Not to mention sleeping can be tough due to all of this.

Im wondering if I really am getting the disease, or if it's just a form of anxiety.

Also, the whole noise problem stems from the fear I'm hallucinating voices/noises.

:(

loulabella
02-12-09, 23:41
In my honest opinion as an in training psychologist, I think the mere fact your questioning prob means you don't have it. Anxiety can cause all of the symptoms you talk about. The DSM - a mental health manual - would suggest many more symptoms for schizophrenia. As your aware your thinking silly thoughts is not usually typical. If I can be of any help pm me. ;)

Mk09
02-12-09, 23:48
Thanks for your reply :)

Just to add, I was out earlier at the bowling alley, but I could barely enjoy it to the paranoia caused by my fear of Schizophrenia. I felt feint sometimes, plus the whole "background noise/hallucination problem" made me feel 100x worse. Also, when im on the phone in a quiet room, I usually end up feeling so scared that ill begin hearing things, other than the person im talking to, so end up feeling very sick and having to hang up prematurely.

NoPoet
03-12-09, 23:33