PDA

View Full Version : Throat/tonsils cancer?

eleanor_rigby
04-12-09, 14:55
For months on and off I get a sore throat, which is sometimes itchy at the back and also makes my ears really hurt. I went to the doctors today and he said my throat looked a bit sore, i had glands up in my neck but my ears were completely fine. I'm really concerned about the fact that he said my glands were up! However, he didn't prescribe me any medication he just told me to come back if I get tonsilitus. I've had this problem for months I know it's not bacterial and he said it was viral. I'm worried that it could be cancer though and I'm even more worried because he's not doing any tests on me.
I don't drink an awful lot of alcohol really, just when I go out because I'm a student. I don't smoke. However I have cervical HPV that makes your pap smears abnormal (had a HPV test positive) and have read about recent research that is saying people are getting oral cancers unrelated to smoking or alcohol because of HPV contracted by giving oral sex. I'm very, very concerned about this even though i don't know for sure whether there is a HPV infection in my mouth. I do know there is in my cervix and having given oral sex, seems like there could well be an infection in my throat too. The doctor just told me to gargle asperin. Should i go back?

Downsinthenorth
04-12-09, 16:06
Yes, you need to go back to your doctor - for reassurance because you are worrying so much about this. Hopefully, you have a decent G.P. who realises it is important to give their patients information, and not just fob them off.

I've had bad sore throats and swollen glands when I've been run down, and about to come down with a particularly bad cold. It may be only that, but you're right to get yourself checked out just in case.

Hope you feel better soon. :)

Cell block H fan
04-12-09, 18:10