PDA

View Full Version : throat ache!!

nell1965
19-11-05, 11:57
Hi all
Does anyone suffer from an ache in the throat area, especilly when eating food which requires more chewing. I have been getting this on and off lately and wondered if it was just due to the tension i have in my jaw and back of neck. I have no problems with swallowing and dont have globus hystericus (i know , because i have had it before :) I havnt been to my own gp with this as i tend to get the feeling they think i am wasting their time. I am a districr nurse and discussed it with one of the staff doctors who checked my neck and said no nodes up and thyroid felt ok so it was probably tension. I do get loads of other muscle aches and pains, typical tp fybromyalgia type pains but milder im sure as it does not debilitate me, it just slows me down a bit. Last had all bloods checked just over a year ago and all was well including ESR and since then only new symptoms are muscle aches and headaches with the neck and jaw pain. I did discover a lump in throat in are of tonsil bed ( i know you are thinking how did she ever find that ) and did have a worrying time for 8 weeks around aug/september and sympyoms just escalated since then. ENT say not sure what it is either calcified tonsil tendon or tonsil tissue left since tonsils remove 26 years ago and ive probably had it since then, i have stopped worrying about lump but i guess its all the symptoms left from the stress i suffered that are causing me anxiety now. as over last 18 months i have had several stressfull periods and now my anxiety tends to be up there most days. I am going to gp next week just to get a check on all symptoms so i can try and move forward. I did try anti depressants/beta blockers but they just made me feel worse , I would rather get to the root of it all. Waiting to go for counselling middle of december and i am attending mental health physio for relaxation HOPE IT WORKS, sorry for long post felt i had to talk to someone who was