PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and IBS getting me down

unspoken
15-12-09, 16:14
Hi everyone,

I'm a 21 year old female. I'm not sure how long I've suffered with anxiety for, a long time I think and it's got worse over time. I graduated from university in July. 2 and a half years ago, at the end of my 1st year at uni, I had a minor stomach bug which somehow left me with IBS. I've had to cut out a lot of foods that trigger IBS and in January of this year I was also diagnosed with gastro-oesophagul acid reflux, which had been causing me panic because I didn't know why I was feeling sick and like I was unable to swallow.

I think anxiety has been with me for a long time. I was diagnosed with Dyspraxia at the age of 9. I was bullied in primary school and the first 2 years of secondary school, until I went to boarding school at 13 where things got a bit better and I made some proper friends. I struggled with organisation in particular, always forgetting things. I also struggled to coordinate things and was slower or unable to do things that other people my age managed with ease. I think this fuelled feelings of anxiety as I have always had to concentrate so much harder to do some things that other people find so easy. I've suffered with insomnia for as long as I can remember, it's like my brain won't stop and my thoughts are racing.