PDA

View Full Version : Memory Loss

Claire50
03-01-10, 12:51
Hi all,

I am new to all this, and am wondering if when you suffer from anxiety you can forget what someone has said to you. My husband appears to be very anxious and I have been advised to be more assertive and stand up to him, which in turn I feel increases his anxiety. If I tell him how I feel etc a few hours later he cannot remember that we have had the conversation. In turn unfortunately I have become depressed because I felt that my feelings are being ignored. How likely is it that he is not ignoring me but that he has no memory of what I have said. He also suffers with mild OCD's.

Thank you.

Maj
03-01-10, 13:55
We can only guess how your husband is feeling as we don't really know. Yes, I think when you are very anxious you can be so personally introspected that you can only think about yourself and how you are feeling and can't really take in what people are saying to you. It's not ignorance, it's just that we can't help it when we feel like this. Anxiety and depression can overwhelm you and take over your life. I don't know if this is the case with your husband - only he can answer that. And yes, I can understand that it can't be easy living with someone who you feel is ignoring you. I think if you temporarily forget about the assertiveness you've been advised to do and sit down and have a heart to heart with your husband then you might both be able to work out where you both stand? It's rotten when both of you feel bad. I hope you both turn a corner.
Myra:hugs:

unspoken
03-01-10, 18:27
Hi, when I was at my lowest points over the past couple of months with anxiety, I struggled to concentrate on conversations and remember what I'd been doing or saying. Anxious thoughts are loud and repetitive and make it hard for any other thoughts to get in. It must be difficult for you to live with.