PDA

View Full Version : bloody stool

bronte
11-01-10, 13:11
hi has anyone had blood mixed in there stool and had nothing serious :ohmy:

thunderduck
11-01-10, 13:18
Hi I am new but know a bit about this, is it bright red or darker more like black?

bronte
11-01-10, 13:28
it is red but seems to be mixed in i had a clear colonoscopy 2 years ago

gypsywomen
11-01-10, 13:29
piles

bronte
11-01-10, 13:31
i thought piles caused blood on outside the stool not inside but i hope your right

gypsywomen
11-01-10, 13:37
what happens as you go to the toilet if your piles are swollen inside they may burst as they are little sacks of blood. dont worry not bad ,,anyway as you pass a stool the blood that comes out of the pile that burst coats the stool with the blood ,, if you had internal bleeding it would be black and tarry with dark blood ..pile blood is like when you cut your finger try anusol it helps them shrink ps i was a nurse 15 years

thunderduck
11-01-10, 13:37
Hi bronte,
I would doubt it would be anything serious if you had a clear colonoscopy 2 years ago, the usual recall for any one with bowel probs is either 3 or 5 years (I KNOW this). Bright red blood is 9 times out of ten, piles. If you still are not sure go to your gp and they will examine you (may be internal piles) the blood can be mixed with stool.
Do you have any other symptoms?

bronte
11-01-10, 14:14
hi i have ibs i did mention it to my dr she said the chance it is anything serious will be minimal because of clear colonoscopy the blood is in little bits that look like undigested food but is red which she said bowel cancer does not present like that

i love tea
11-01-10, 14:17
Hi bronte,

Could it be undigested bits of food? I have IBS and sometimes, if the IBS is playing up, I get bits of undigested food in my poo - I especially notice it with tomatoes.

As everyone has already said, I always understood that dark blood in the poo is a bad sign, not bright red.

Take care :)

bronte
11-01-10, 14:21