PDA

View Full Version : Canesten

phil06
09-02-10, 22:27
Can anybody put my mind at rest. I have been using canesten cream and moisturizers daily for about two months. The doctor gave me it to treat a small bit of eczema. She just said use it twice per day..only been using it once as I have long lies...but she said keep using it even if it goes away for a bit. So if it comes back I guess you keep using it? is that right? A few weeks ago I read the label saying something abut breathing problems or dizziness as a symptom. So that worried me are you supposed to use it long term?

Basically after that I stopped then my skin actually got worse? So I started using it again and it's cleared up. Don't wanna keep using it so might try E45 cream tonight. But if that doesn't work will Canesten do any damage?

Any links might put my mind at rest.

smudger
09-02-10, 22:49
Ive used canesten before and re used without problem. Don't remember the leaflet mentioning prolonged use. There is a canesten website if you want to ask them direct. I wouldn't be concerned but ask your chemist if you are unsure.

marley
10-02-10, 01:02
As far as I'm aware, Canestan is a brand of anti-fungal cream, which is totally different to the cortico-steriod creams generally used to treat eczema. Antifungal creams are made of a similar ingredient to anti-dandruff shampoos, and to one of the drugs which is used to treat H. Pylori. Millions of people use it on a daily basis for a variety of ailments.

Perhaps giving your GP a call to get a recommend a skin cream to continue with would be a good idea. It would be a bit redundant to use an eczema cream if you in fact have a fungal skin condition (or vice versa).