PDA

View Full Version : living abroad with panic attack

katyspain
12-02-10, 17:44
hey everyone, i just joined this forum. i'm a student studying on a year abroad in spain for a year and i've found the experience pretty scary and have some kind of anxiety symptom every day and now have started having panic attacks again (i suffered from them about 4 years ago quite severely)
anyway, today i had a different sort of panic attack where my throat felt suddenly very sore and my chest felt really tight and it almost felt like indigestion..anyway i ran about my flat panicking and called my dad in england who said calm down (very helpful) and all i could do was lie in bed and try to breathe deeply...i did this for about an hour. i feel a bit better now but this really is gona affect me for next few days as my usual type of panic is feeling very sick and wobbly, ive never had problems with my chest before.
i feel like i'm on the verge of booking a flight home and running away from it all (as usual) im quite stressed because im moving to a new flat today/tomorrow and i know that in the new place i will have much less privacy and will not be able to disguise my freakish behaviour (this maywell have brought this on as i was packing when it happened)
i really need some words of wisdom or to know someone else feels as awful as i do or has had a similar experience like this!! :blush:

diane07
12-02-10, 17:50
A huge warm welcome to NMP.

You'll get loads of help and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

best wishes

di xx

Vanilla Sky
12-02-10, 18:05
Hi and welcome to NMP. I feel for you being away from home when you are feeling like that . Anyway , we are always here for you :welcome: Love Paige x

squeaky
14-02-10, 15:51