PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety & Food

Kafrin
09-02-04, 18:07
Hi All-
I'm relatively new to admitting I may have a panic disorder-and have a question.

Recently I have started the Atkins Diet. I love it because I have lost a lot of weight on it before, but since I have cut out the carbs(about 2 weeks now) My anxiety level has gone through the roof!

Bad Idea?
Kafrin

mico
09-02-04, 18:44
Hi Kafrin

I'm no expert on diets, but I do know certain diets can affect your levels of anxiety.

I think Meg is normally the expert on these types of questions but I think I remember seeing a post were she said she was going on holiday for a week. Have you tried the search facility at the top of the page, maybe there has already been something posted on it.

mico

Rennie1989
09-02-04, 18:59
Eat a few more carbs if ya need to, just a few a week

Jade

nomorepanic
09-02-04, 21:25
Kafrin

My mum did really well on the Atkins but she did say that she help quite poorly for the first 4 or 5 days and she didn't think it would suit me cos of my panic attacks. After that she felt great!

Maybe it is because of the side effects that you started to feel a little worse.

Have you tried any other diets?

Nicola

Meg
09-02-04, 22:13
Atkins is awful for anxiety. We need carbs as instant energy but make them complex carbs.

Put hypoglycaemia into the search at the top and the last few threads will come up . Much anxiety can be calmed by regulating your blood sugar - the Atkins really adds extra stress on your kidneys, pancreas and adrenals..

Meg

Watch your thoughts, they become your words...
Watch your words, they become your actions... Watch your actions, they become your habits... Watch your habits, they become your character... Watch your character, it becomes your destiny...

benoo5
09-02-04, 23:07
there is no quick-fix to anything in life!

a calorie controlled diet,combined with exercise...is the only really healthy way to lose weight.

best wishes...bryan.

Kafrin
10-02-04, 06:12