PDA

View Full Version : How do we control our ha

Dollie
27-02-10, 00:22
I would say i've suffered with HA for a long time but only recently accepted that this is my real problem. We all suffer in different ways and we all manage to get through things differently.
As someone fairly new to the site and new to accepting i have a HA problem, how do you all cope with things
What advice could you give me to help releive all the problems like, palpations, panic attacks, flushing, fears and woes
I will try most things as I really would like to come off medication if I can.

All suggestions welcome xx

randomworry
27-02-10, 00:34
im no expert yet but we can try to help ourselves by stopping excessive reassurance, checking your heart (perhaps in your case) - my case is checking neck for thyroid cancer lumps..lol!

excercising to reduce stress and generally facing anything we are avoiding.

essentially we have to face the fear head on

hope that helps a bit

tnt808
27-02-10, 04:53
I can't face the fears- that's my biggest problem. I also put Health Anxiety in a different category than other anxieties...it's a fault of mine- I know this- at the end of the day it's all anxiety, right?

I have the hardest time making the thoughts stop. Once I see or feel something I automatically think the worst then from there it just spirals out of control. I have been told it's not our first thought that's bad as everyone has an initial thought- but they just brush it off...it's our second, third, and fourth thoughts that fuel our anxiety.

I am struggling with accepting this is just anxiety- because when I have a symptom it's so real and super scary!

Sorry I am no help either- I haven't figured this thing out at all xx

Jannie2948
27-02-10, 08:04