PDA

View Full Version : period pains

smudger
03-03-10, 09:40
Hi all. Has anybody got any natural remedies for period pains please? I take a prescription painkiller called mefanamic acid tablets (non steroid ANTI IMFLAMMMATORY). Trouble is I have to take these as soon as I feel the slightest pain before my period starts and regularly with food throughout. As soon as I slack on the dose, mega pain kicks in. I have never liked taking them but I have long term because they are brilliant pain relief if I'm strict enough on doseage. I use warm bean bags on my stomache too. I would like to try natural ways as it does worry me that I have been using these tablets for 10 years not always with food (especially in the middle of the night when pain wakes me up. The effect on my stomache lining is my concern! At the moment I'm taking omega 3, multi vitamin and prescribed iron tablets so anything natural needs to compliment these. Thanks a bunch if you can recommend something.

biscuitlover
03-03-10, 13:41
Hey,

I don't think taking the tablets for a few days a month will really have any affect on the stomach. Its only people who take them on a daily basis that need to be careful.

As for natural remedies, I found that exercise really helps. Its often something that you least want to do before and during your period but it really helps mine.

We once went on a 2 hours walk on the day i was due to start my period. I got a few aches and a pain at one point but that was it...as in that was it for the whole period, no more pain. Gentle/moderate exercise also produces those good hormones that can counteract pain.

smudger
03-03-10, 14:31
Thank you for your advice.Appreciate that. The pains get worse as I get older. I HATE PERIODS!

Typer
03-03-10, 14:36
There is a herbal remedy that did work for me years ago. I got it in tincture. used black and blue Cohosh. Of course that was a long time ago...no need these days :-)

here is a great site that may help you decide or try a few things