PDA

View Full Version : Citalopram / Doctors advice

Mac01
04-03-10, 19:39
Hi everyone,
This is my first time on here. I would appreciate it if you could give me your opinion...

My aunt had a stroke at Christmas. She was put on 20mg of Citalopram as part of her medication. She has always been against anti-depressants!

She has now been on them for two months and only realised when I told her what the were. She wants to come off them as soon as possible. When we spoke to the Doctor, she said she had to wait for 6 months. I am left wondering whether the Doctor is saying that because they want her to stay on them or because that's how long it will take before they can reduce them before stopping. (I am not a great believer in pharmaceuticals anyway and therefore quite mistrusting of the Doctors intentions).

Any thoughts??
Thanks for taking the time to read my post.
Maria

AJS
04-03-10, 20:35
not sure why they would want her to take them for 6 months. My friends dad had a stroke and they put him on citalopram (found that out when i told my friend i had been put on them and she said that's what they gave her dad after the stroke) So it's maybe a drug they use that helps stroke victims - try doign some reasearch.

It takes about 2-8 weeks for them to start working properly - and if you come off them it should be a gradual reduction to minimize withdrawel.

Hope you get some answers.

AJ :)

smudger
04-03-10, 21:18
Hi. I have read citalopram can improves motor function in stroke patients. Also depression is common in about 30 % of stroke patients after the stroke. Is your Aunt suffering? If not, maybe its the former reason. Doc probably wants to give it time to work, thats why they said 6 months. In the latter case with depression, once a patient feels better they recommend continuing for a further 6 months before weaning off. Best thing is to ring the doc to ask which reason he has prescribed it for.

Mac01
05-03-10, 10:24