PDA

View Full Version : Medical student syndrome - hypochondria

Anonybrit
10-03-10, 18:58
I am a medical student, and over the past 3 weeks I have gone from being completely free of hypochondria to having a full on daily health anxiety.

I have a history of anxiety, notably one period last summer when my girlfriend left me. I don't really get depressed very often, my negative feelings are usually only expressed as anxiety. I had a short course of diazepam then which sorted me out and I was fine.

Then about 3 weeks ago my tension headahces got worse, and armed with my growing medical knowledge I attributed this to the worst possible cause - brain cancer, obviously. I went in search of other symptoms but I really didn't fit the bill for a brain tumour, I went to the GP and he told me I had no papilledema and I was fine...

I thought that'd be that, but then suddenly, I started jumping from one disease to another.

The next time I noticed a muscle in my body twitch, I became convinced it was ALS, until I learnt that twitching in ALS only follows atrophy, which I don't have, so I went to MS instead, which I learnt was a tremor during movement not at rest, so I went to Parkinson's etc. etc.

Each day I was terrified of having another disease.

Low and behold, the week we started learning about lymphoma, I had a nightmare and wake up a bit sweaty and knowing that night sweats are a possible symptoms of lymphoma I go looking for, and obviously find, a swollen lymph node.

And that's where I am now, convinced I have lymphoma, searching for every detail on the specific posterior cervical lymph node I have and what it could mean, prodding it until it hurts and no doubt will swell even more.

This is so miserable and I can't have this becoming a permanent thing, I love medicine and I love my carer and I don't want this to ruin it for me.

melvin
10-03-10, 19:04