View Full Version : New

Astrogirl
16-03-10, 23:09
Hi,
I'm new to this so please bear with me!
I had been on 20mg citalopram for about 7 years when the depression and panic attacks returned.
My doctor has put me on 30mg mirtazipine which I have been on for 22 days now. I had 1 night of not taking citalopram before swapping over.
I had side effects, suffering from dizziness when walking and numb hands, these have pretty much subsided now. However, I'm still having really down times where I feel guilty over nothing or just cry for no reason. I am much better than I was but not as good as maybe I'd hoped to be by now.
Just wondering if anyone could offer advice as to when I should start to feel 'normal' again? I know there is no miracle cure but I'm just curious to see how others felt on these tablets.
Thank you for any help
:wacko::wacko:

diane07
16-03-10, 23:10
Hi Astrogirl

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

gary_2.0
17-03-10, 02:10
:welcome:Hi Astrogirl. Welcome to the forum.

I took Citalopram many years ago and it worked wonderfully. The next time I needed it. It did nothing at all. There are so many factors involved, it's like asking, 'how long is a piece of string'.

That you're better off now with the Mirtazipine is a good sign, that suggests to me a slight increase in the dose might be the next step your doctor prescribes. Or perhaps you might suggest it yourself.

There are forums here on NMP dedicated to specific drugs that I'm sure will help you find people in similar positions who can advise better than me.

There's also a thread on Stephen Fry's forum that might be helpful. Mirtazipine isues (again) (http://www.stephenfry.com/forum/topic/mirtazipine-isues-again)

Good luck Astrogirl - cool name.
:yesyes:

JT69
17-03-10, 16:10
Hi,
I'm new to this so please bear with me!